Newdetector

Greenie
Feb 3, 2017
Massachusetts
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter QuickSilver
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi all, I am new to all types of treasure hunting, but I have taken an obsession recently with watching YouTube videos. Come spring time, I plan to purchase a 249lb CMS magnet and was wondering what is a good way to secure it. Should I buy screws or just rope? What is a good rope I should use for this magnet? I plan on fishing in an old pond that was a runoff to the dump many years ago. Thanks!! I have been looking all through these threads and am enjoying seeing everybody's catches.

Just as an edit: Do you feel like a 249 lb magnet is strong enough for me just starting out?

Last edited:

fish1on

Silver Member
Aug 28, 2012
Farr West, utah
Detector(s) used
Fisher F70 with 6.5", 10" Elliptical, & 11" Search Coil. Garret pro pointer AT, Minelab excaliber II (New machine)
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I am new to magnet fishing as well, waiting for the thaw to go out. My magnet is the 249 and youtube videos led me to getting this size.

magnet 2.jpg magnet 1.jpg

OP
OP
N

Newdetector

Greenie
Feb 3, 2017
Massachusetts
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey fish1on, same with me! I'm thinking the 249 is the one for me. Just hoping I'll be strong enough to pull it, haha. If not my boyfriend has some muscle & can help! Glad someone else is getting into it too, best of luck to you! Looking forward to seeing your finds

Vern2

Jan 26, 2017
Leesburg Ga
Detector(s) used
Tesoro DeLeon;
Red Racer
Garrett carrot, Makro PP
Lesche shovel and knife
Killer B's head phones
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Will the 249 pick up quarters, dimes, and pennies? I bought one on ebay for somewhere around 14.00 and it only picks up iron. I can find a use for it, but I want one that will pick up US coins.

fish1on

Silver Member
Aug 28, 2012
Farr West, utah
Detector(s) used