Question for all you Magnet Fishing Veterans...

GaffleBab

Aug 4, 2017
Vancouver Island
Detector(s) used
Minelab Equinox 800
Garrett AT MAX International
Teknetics Delta 4000
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Alright, so I'm out yesterday at a spot I've never tried before. It's not super deep so you can mostly see to the bottom. The one spot where I cannot see the bottom I was catching onto to something but anytime I pulled I would become disconnected. After a few tries I figured it must have been one of the support chains for the dock itself or something to that effect. When I got home and was inspecting the GoPro footage I could see that it was actually on a Shopping Cart!

My question to everyone here is, do you think that a 255lb Pull Magnet is strong enough to pull in a Shopper Cart, also keeping in mind the design of the Cart and how making a solid connection may not be as easy. I probably attached to it 4 or 5 times before I moved on. I won't be in this town for much longer and the Metal Detecting here is really good but I would love to be able to pull that out...but is it possible....hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm???

Bronze Member
May 26, 2011
tujunga ca
Detector(s) used
xlt mxt gmz and now a gmt whites
maybe make a grappling hook of some kind .
good luck brad

kingskid1611

Gold Member
Feb 23, 2015
Oklahoma
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
It may have something tangled on it so it doesn't come up. may have to go down and grab it by hand.....

OP
OP
GaffleBab

GaffleBab

Aug 4, 2017
Vancouver Island
Detector(s) used
Minelab Equinox 800
Teknetics Delta 4000
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
maybe make a grappling hook of some kind .
good luck brad

That is a great idea! I just do not have the time to get around to sourcing one, gonna try the Magnet tomorrow morning before I leave here. If I cannot get it and it's still there next year I'll be sure to try that! Thanks :notworthy:

boogeyman

Gold Member
Jun 6, 2006
Out in the hills near wherendaheckarwe