Aerial and Satellite Maps

TSCOM

Oct 13, 2014
Georgia
Detector(s) used
Fisher F5, Tesoro Compadre
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I have some questions about the history of aerial maps/photos. Are aerial maps taken by airplanes? For example historicaerials.com.

When did the US start taking aerial photos and when did they switch to satellite? I'm curious if they go further back than 1955.

Jesse James

Mar 14, 2012
Lancaster County, PA
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro
Garrett Carrot
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Here in PA we can get aerial photos as far back as 1939. That's the oldest I've come across. I believe they were taken for agricultural purposes. The come in handy for my research.

geologyjohn

Mar 18, 2009
West edge of the U.S.
Detector(s) used
WW2 mine detector, D-Tex Standard, D-Tex Deluxe, A.H. Pro Discriminator, various Whites, Fisher 1265-X, Fisher 1270, Fisher F75, Fisher Gold Bug,Tesoro Sand Shark. And maybe others that I forgot?
I have been a geologist since the 1970's. I frequently use aerial photos in my work. Also for my TH'ing. The oldest stereo pairs of aerial photographs that I have used were a flight line flown in 1928. The oldest non-stereo photos I have looked at are WW1 battlefield reconn photos taken over France and Belgium. Geologyjohn

Clay Diggins

Silver Member
Nov 14, 2010
The Great Southwest
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Aerial maps are images taken by airplanes, stitched together and then orthorectified. That's where the stereo pairs come in - to provide the Digital Elevation Model (DEM) to rectify photo distortions due to differences in elevation across the aerial image area.

Satellite images can provide aerial mapping but there are a lot of limitations that lower level airplanes don't encounter. The most familiar obstacle to good satellite imagery is the lower resolution. Other obstacles are atmospheric disturbance and angle distortion.