diggummup

Gold Member
Jul 15, 2004
Somewhere in the woods
Detector(s) used
Whites M6
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm not a marble expert but the first thing I thought of was a Peltier or Christensen slag, leaning towards the latter because of the seam.

cheese

Silver Member
Jan 9, 2005
South Georgia
It's not a slag, but it does look like it could be CAC (Christensen Agate Company). I assume it's about 5/8"? Size does matter when IDing marbles. The more I look, the more I'm undecided. Alley and Ravenswood also come to mind but I keep going more to CAC.

OP
OP
D

drizzlermibs

Bronze Member
Nov 15, 2015
Florida
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
It's not a slag, but it does look like it could be CAC (Christensen Agate Company). I assume it's about 5/8"? Size does matter when IDing marbles. The more I look, the more I'm undecided. Alley and Ravenswood also come to mind but I keep going more to CAC.

My digital caliper reads .61 - (if that translates to 5/8"?!). I was poking around online today and am wondering if it could possibly be a Cairo swirl? I rarely consider the lesser known makers; but for this one I have been searching all over. (It does have a translucent base which is hard to see from the pic). Tx.

diggummup

Gold Member
Jul 15, 2004
Somewhere in the woods
Detector(s) used
Whites M6
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Ok. I was just looking at the one I found that I thought looked the closest to it, which was the Christensen brown slag. I'm not a marble collector so I'm sure you know more than me. Christensen Agate Marble ID

christ5.jpg

OP
OP
D

drizzlermibs

Bronze Member
Nov 15, 2015
Florida
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I can't see it being Cairo. Looking again I still think CAC.