White Marble

SorenCoins

Apr 5, 2015
Parker, Colorado
Detector(s) used
Minelab Go Find 60, Bounty Hunter Sharp Shooter II
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello everyone! It's my first time using the forum for a while, so I am glad to be back :hello:

I found this white, glassy, spherical object about a year and a half ago, and I believe it is a marble. I am mostly into coins and rocks and minerals, so I don't really know too much about marbles, but I would love to learn! I found another marble with multiple colors that I believe is much older, but that is for another day. Today, I am just wondering if anyone might know something about this white marble I found.

I found it on a hiking trail in Lakewood, Colorado and today I finally rinsed it of to take a closer look at it. It has a glassy finish on it. At first, it seems completely opaque. However, there is one spot that appears a little darker than the rest. I thought this may be a sign that something more interesting was going on, so I decided to hold it up to a strong light to view the inside of the marble. I was surprised to see that there was a lot of "banding."

I wasn't exactly sure what things one looks for when identifying marbles, but I took note of a few things:

Diameter (measured with digital calipers): about 0.545 inches.

Weight: the marble read back and forth between 3.43 grams and 3.44 grams on my scale (but most of the time it was 3.44 grams).

Also, it does not appear to react under UV light, in case that helps.

Here are some pictures of this marble:

I put a ruler (using the inches side) next to the marble in some pictures to help show scale.

whitemarbleone.jpg
whitemarbletwo.jpg
whitemarblethree.jpg
whitemarblefour.jpg
whitemarblefive.jpg
whitemarblesix.jpg
whitemarbleseven.jpg