Beach detector

Doug Watson

Jul 29, 2010
Upvote 0

JOE(USA)

Dec 3, 2006
New Milford,CT.
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Cortes/Tiger Shark,Whites,B.H./ Teknetics,3DElectronics/ Two Box, Minelab XS,Excal.
You need a detector that has a salt mode or that has a ground balance that will handle the salt. (I assume you mean a salt water beach?). Joe

maui

Dec 3, 2007
maui, hawaii
Detector(s) used
whites GMT
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
read and heard that the white's TDI works very well but they run around $1,500.
take care. ron

OP
OP
D

Doug Watson

Jul 29, 2010
Yes, I am talking about salt and I've been all over the board with the settings. There is so much background noise I can't hear a thing. If I get the noise calmed down I lose any sensitivity. It's not so bad in the dry sand but it really goes south in wet sand. I'm still learning the detector but haven't had this problem out looking for gold although I haven't found any yet. Lots of birdshot and everything else. Sorry about being sort of ignorant but we don't have any detector shops near and I'm still learning. Talked to the prospecting shop in Sweethome Oregon at a gold show and they said it is a problem for the GB2 and they recommended a Whites MXT for that type of hunting, but don't get rid of the GB2 as that's what he uses for gold even though he's a Whites dealer. The reason I was looking at another detector is that it would be nice to have some discrimination for coins, rings etc. in areas where I'm not looking for gold. Thanks again, Doug.

JOE(USA)

Dec 3, 2006
New Milford,CT.
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Cortes/Tiger Shark,Whites,B.H./ Teknetics,3DElectronics/ Two Box, Minelab XS,Excal.
Doug Watson,

My guess is that you are not setting the detector up correctly. You said something about still learning. The GBII is a versatile machine. Have you tried the "high mineralization" mode? It should work quite well at the salt beach. Joe

OP
OP
D

Doug Watson

Jul 29, 2010