Hydraulic pit

nvradar

Dec 27, 2009
Idaho
Detector(s) used
Whites gm4b, Minelab sd 2200d
Hey guys
I found this spot the other day and the river rock is cemented in so hard I could only get it out ( with a ton of sweat and swearing) with a heavy pinch bar. I'm new to the hydraulic pits but I believe this is ground the monitor missed. Am I wrong? Anyways I dug a big hole as you can see and ran my 2200d and my gm4b and absolutely NOTHING! I know bedrock is the hot spot but don't you think there should have been something in all the dirt and rocks moved? The hole is a bit over 3 ft. deep. NVRADAR

Attachments

• DSC04805.JPG
    DSC04805.JPG
    101.6 KB · Views: 761
  • DSC04806.JPG
    DSC04806.JPG
    79.9 KB · Views: 723
  • DSC04812.JPG
    DSC04812.JPG
    83.1 KB · Views: 727
Upvote 0

kuger

Gold Member
Nov 6, 2007
Detector(s) used
,M.X.T.& Tesoro Tejon
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
LOL!!That depends on how far down bed rock is there!It may be 100' or more.Yes there can be gold in every layer but the higher most likely the finer.

bug

Jun 5, 2008
Nor Cal
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Good effort but...like kuger said, the pay is usually sitting right on bedrock. Probably just flour gold in the upper strata, if anything.
The miners may have been getting poor results leading up to the unmined area you found, and left it. The bedrock below may have been out of the pay streak, sloping or high ground with little gold on it. Then again you never know...

OP
OP
nvradar

nvradar

Dec 27, 2009
Idaho
Detector(s) used
I think this was accidentally missed for whatever reason because there isn't another missed spot in the whole place that I have found,and it is a large pit. Bedrock is only 5-6 ft. away from the hole I dug but it isn't the smooth bedrock found in the river so thats got me a little curious. Maybe I should try a little further up to find the bedrock? I need a DOZER!! NVRADAR

kuger

Gold Member
Nov 6, 2007
Detector(s) used