About To Buy A Metal Detector. Your Thought On Whats Best For Arizona

AzViper

Bronze Member
Sep 30, 2012
Arizona - Is there any other state worth visiting
Detector(s) used
Fisher Gold Bug Pro, Nokta FORS Gold, Garrett ATX, Sun Ray Gold Pro Headphones, Royal Pick, Etc.
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
I have been hanging out in these forums for a few months mainly reading and gathering information. I have now decided to purchase a metal detector. Living in Tucson, Arizona my main objective is to locate gold. I want to keep my budget under $1000.00. I plan to work dry washes, old mining areas, washes that flow sometimes during the year, etc. My short list of detectors, Gold Bug Pro, Gold Bug 2, Whites GMT, and Gold Lobo SuperTRAQ.

Taking in the consideration of the quality of the each detector, how easy it is to use, the ability to locate gold, warranty, and available accessories, which of these detectors would better fit my needs here in Arizona? I know this is a loaded question but I know there are many treasure hunters in these forums that live or work in Arizona that treasure hunt the great state of Arizona. I may also add I have never used a metal detector, but I am a fast learner and will devote more time learning to use equipment before I step a foot in the field. One of my concerns, I have some hearing loss of high frequency in one of my ears.

Last edited:
Upvote 0

MetalDetectMatt

Oct 24, 2012
Kentucky
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 250
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I can't speak from experience, but I will be getting a Lobo Super Traq here in a few weeks. The lobo sounds like a great performer, from watching videos and reading posts it's a great machine. And I'm sure Terry will be along shortly to give you the run down on all over those detectors you have listed!

weighit

Feb 17, 2007
Northern Arizona
Detector(s) used
Whites DFX with a Big Foot coil
Gold Bug 2