Best detector for finding gold in quartz?

W4MRK

Greenie
Dec 16, 2012
Kernersville, NC
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
I have a creek where I prospect that is about 98% quartz, very little of any other kind of rock is present. I have found pennyweight nuggets in this creek before and have found some gold in quartz also. What metal detector would be best for searching this quartz? I have zero experience with metal detectors other than the old Tesoro Bandido 2 I had back in the early 90's so any tips will be greatly appreciated.

Oh yeah, looking to get something for $800 or less

Upvote 0

Lanny in AB

Gold Member
Apr 2, 2003
Alberta
Detector(s) used
Various Minelabs(5000, 2100, X-Terra 705, Equinox 800, Gold Monster), Falcon MD20, Tesoro Sand Shark, Gold Bug Pro, Makro Gold Racer.
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
For your price range--Gold Bug II, Gold Bug Pro, Tesoro Lobo Super Traq, White's GMT--I'm sure someone else will jump in with others as well.

All the best,

Lanny

nuggetshooter323

Jul 22, 2005
Colorado Springs
Detector(s) used
The Legend, Anfibio Equinox 900, Gold Kruzer, XP Deus, ORX, Tesoro Tejon, Whites GMT, Falcon MD20, XP MI-6, Fisher F-Pulse, Pulse Dive, Vibra Probe, UniProbe.
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
All of these are in the price range you indicated, but there are other factors to consider to find the best fit for your temperment and present and future needs: