New to the forms and just getting started.

Rippin Lips

Tenderfoot
Jan 16, 2013
Hello to everyone, my name is James and I'm new to metal detecting for gold.

At the beginning of last summer I purchase a White's GMT that came with headphones as well as a Falcon MD 20 for $600. Since then I have been out detecting about 5 time in Trinity County. Douglas City, Weaverville, and Helena area. Found a lot of Bobby pins, iron, lead sinkers, hooks, a few coins, bird shot, old nails, the list goes on but no gold yet. I've done a lot of research but still have a lot to learn.

I was hoping someone who has detected in the trinity county area could give me some pointers. I plan on braving whats left of the snow in the Helena area some time this week unless someone has other recommendations.

I've noticed a lot of helpful information on this site and it looks to be a great group of people. Im looking forward to talking to some new people.

-James

Upvote 0

Jim Hemmingway

Jan 26, 2008
Canada
Detector(s) used
F-75, Infinium LS, MXT, GoldBug2, TDI Pro, 1280X Aquanaut, Garrett ProPointer
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
James... welcome to the forum. You've got good equipment, think about joining some local clubs to get acquainted with local prospectors and gain some experience. Good luck and HH... :thumbsup:

Jim.

63bkpkr

Silver Member
Aug 9, 2007
Southern California
Detector(s) used
XLT, GMT, 6000D Coinmaster
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting