help with my gold bug pro

Feb 11, 2013
Montana
Detector(s) used
Fisher Gold Bug Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
hey guys this is my first post i just subscribed this morning, great forum! I just started nugget hunting in western MT and Idaho on some very very promising claims i have access too. I was out for a couple hours yesterday but did not find any nuggets. I found a promising spot to go back to though. Ugh saw 2 fresh cat kills on the way out though... i felt pretty vulnerable without my pistol so i got out of there for another day.

This was my first time out with my new Gold Bug Pro. I am totally new to detecting but i am no idiot and have done a bunch of metal detection research the past 2 months before purchasing. I am looking to find some information on how to set it up better for finding small nuggets. Can anyone help me or refer me to an already posted article. I'll continue to search on here. My grounds are very heavy with irons.

Upvote 0

Rutnbuck

Jun 26, 2005
No. Utah
Detector(s) used
whites xlt, Goldbug2,
Be patiant and dig everything untill you get it down. Get a gold nugget to test your machine and decipher the differance in tones. Head Phones will help. What area are you in if you don't mind? I have spent some time in Mt and dying to get back up there. Good luck and find tons of gold.
Rutnbuck

OP
OP
WestMTnuggetsniper
Feb 11, 2013
Montana
Detector(s) used
Fisher Gold Bug Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting