Excellent forum - now can a beginner get some VLF gold detecting help please!

GelatiMiner

May 6, 2013
Melbourne
Detector(s) used
Fisher Gold Bug Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi all, I'm a newbie from Australia and first time poster, I have done a lot of reading of this excellent resource and it's been truly invaluable. It helped me to choose my first gold detector - a Fisher Gold Bug Pro which I love!

Recently I spent a long weekend gold detecting around the Victorian Daylesford area which is old gold rush territory. Was hoping (ok expecting!) to find at least a sliver of gold but alas no luck. My father in law is new to detecting too and he had no luck either.

Even though we didn't find anything, it gave me ample time to begin to learn my detector and to start to question myself and my detector and what exactly I was doing. With no experience and bushcraft skills it all felt very random and whilst massively enjoyable I felt a bit lost at times to be honest. I feel I completely understand my device thanks to the excellent manual and resources such as this forum. Where I am lacking is knowing WHERE to detect. What areas are going to maximise my chances?

Here are some of the questions I was hoping some of you gurus could help with:

My Fisher Gold Bug Pro settings for pretty much the entire expedition were gain at 11 o'clock, threshold at either 11 or 12 o'clock, as per the legendary poster and Gold Bug Pro expert, Trinity AU. I liked to detect with a small constant audio tone. I was very careful to ground balance using Ground Grab often.

1. What happens to the ground phase when gold is present? Increases or decreases?

2. In hot ground should I ground balance to hot rocks?

3. What features should be detected first?
- ie old dried up creeks
- bush areas near mine shafts?
- compacted areas of soil full of rocks in places like pine forests?
- areas with lots of quartz sitting on the ground?
- areas with lots of hot rocks sitting on the ground?