Best VLF for Tailing Piles

Hard Prospector

Aug 29, 2012
SO CAL
Detector(s) used
SDC2300, Gold Monster, Sierra Gold Trac, GB2, the Falcon......and just as many drywashers
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Best VLF for Tailling Piles

I've been invited onto a private ranch with two old gold mines with large tailling piles. I have a lot of experience swinging over mountain and desert placer but always avoided taillings 'cause most I'd come across had already been flogged and plowed through. This place is very different as it may have never seen a detector. My question is; should I use my GMT(with 4x6 or 6x10 coil) or GB Pro(5" round or 10"elliptical) Also, any advice on on a systematic approach to work these piles would be appreciated, thanks.....Rob

Last edited:
Upvote 0

sparkydog

Sep 28, 2008
Boulder Colorado
Detector(s) used
Whites: Surf, Eagle II SL, GMT.
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
The GMT hands down! This is what it was designed for and it is one of the very best for this. The smaller head will maneuver in and out of the rocks best with only a small sacrifice in depth. Your bigger coil will go a little deeper and cover more ground so the condition of the piles will dictate which to use. (Trial and error). There is a guy on youtube who is working tailings and is pretty systematic in his technique. He pulls off a layer and spreads it out then scans it and repeats as he goes down. Was the gold from this mine free gold or is it in ore like telurides? Either way, the mineral rejection of the GMT and the automatic ground balance will make hunting those piles possible. Good Luck!

Terry Soloman

Gold Member
May 28, 2010
White Plains, New York
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Nokta Makro Legend// Pulsedive// Minelab GPZ 7000// Vanquish 540// Minelab Pro Find 35// Dune Kraken Sandscoop// Grave Digger Tools Tombstone shovel & Sidekick digger// Bunk's Hermit Pick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting