Best Detector for Gold under $300

Panman

Sep 8, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Getting my first MD and I only want to spend about $300. I'm looking for a MD that will work well in highly mineralized soil. As a beginner I just want to be able to learn and see if I like it before spending a lot on a better MD. I think I'm interested primarily in MD for gold. Not really interested in working parks or beaches for coins or jewelry.

Upvote 0

Aufisher

Bronze Member
May 12, 2013
The Golden State
Detector(s) used
Whites Goldmaster V/SAT. VibraProbe. Bazooka 48" Prospector Sluice. Shorts. Chickens + Goats + Goldhounds. 35' Chris Craft Caribbean motorsailer. FISH OIL + BURLAP
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
I love my Goldmaster VSAT used for $300 nice condition got it on Craigslist.

Terry Soloman

Gold Member
May 28, 2010
White Plains, New York
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Nokta Makro Legend// Pulsedive// Minelab GPZ 7000// Vanquish 540// Minelab Pro Find 35// Dune Kraken Sandscoop// Grave Digger Tools Tombstone shovel & Sidekick digger// Bunk's Hermit Pick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Good luck Panman. Where do you live and prospect? You'll be looking at used, manual ground balance machines, that operate at 14khz-19khz for gold prospecting in your price range. New, they start at $500.00 (Fisher Goldbug) and just go up from there.

OP
OP
Panman

Panman

Sep 8, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm in Bakersfield.

Terry Soloman

Gold Member
May 28, 2010
White Plains, New York
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Nokta Makro Legend// Pulsedive// Minelab GPZ 7000// Vanquish 540// Minelab Pro Find 35// Dune Kraken Sandscoop// Grave Digger Tools Tombstone shovel & Sidekick digger// Bunk's Hermit Pick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting

IDdesertman

Dec 8, 2007
Boise, Idaho
Detector(s) used
GPX4500, Gold Bugs
Primary Interest:
Prospecting