NEED HELP CHOOSING WHICH DETECTOR TO BUY!!!

scottyb

Jan 17, 2013
Hey fellers,

i'm trying to decide which detector to buy and its drivin me crazy!! my brother who is currently using a Minelab GP3000 says to get a Minelab GP series PERIOD!!! He's been detecting 20 yrs now and i dont doubt his expertise.. but $5-6k is a HUGE chunk of change and i need to finance a large portion of this purchase..he says the areas we are detecting in make the Minelab the only option..i'm just not convinced that maybe the GARRETT APX which is half the cost wont work just as well!!! i am not completely new to detecting but i am a rookie at this type of prospecting... i have used his gp3000 with decent results..the problem is, i have not tried any other brands.we prospect/detect in new mexico and arizona primarily which we all know is highly mineralized..i prefer to buy new to avoid getting someone elses headache along with the warranty and the finance options that are available..also buying used limits the finance options..my lil brother is biased, as he has had great results with his minelab and HAS used many other brands..just cant quite get him to understand why i am considering a different brand..(brothers...oooof)....any input is greatly appreciated!!! thanks in advance..
Scotty b

Upvote 0

vpnavy

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jun 15, 2008
York County, PA (USA)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Whatever MD you finally decide on - please consider buying one from one of
tn_02.gif
's Supporting Vendors.

fowledup

Silver Member
Jul 21, 2013
Northern California
Detector(s) used
Whites GMT V/SAT
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
For around the same or a little less depending which GP you are looking at you could have the best of both worlds. ATX (PI) and Eureka Gold or GB2 (VLF).

dirtscratcher

Bronze Member
Mar 18, 2009
Columbia falls Montana
Detector(s) used
Minelab Sov GT Explorer XS Tesoro Vaq t2se x705
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting