Nugget Hunting in Georgia

M

mrsgoldigger

I have been researching for 2 months and still dont have a clue as to where to go in Georgia for FREE that is. My sister and I are going up to Dahlonega & around Lumpkin County Georgia next month (end of April) for our first Gold Panning & Nugget Hunting Trip.

I was wondering if anyone here has property up that way that we can get your permission to stop by and metal detect for nuggets. Anyone own any vacation property on a river, stream or creek? Just Asking..

Also, can anyone say what the weather is like around end of April in Georgia.. And should I invest in chest waders or Highbanker? What about water snakes in April - are they out then? Being that we are both Nugget Virgins, any help, tips or advice would be welcome...

Thanks for any info in advance...

MrsGoldiger
Sunny - Florida

Upvote 0

Silver Striker

Aug 2, 2006
Melbourne, Florida
Hey MrsGoldigger. I have been researching that area too, so I'll share some weather info with you. The weather in Dahlonega, in late April, supposedly averages around 72F for a daytime high and 43F for a nighttime low. Precipitation averages around 5" per month, in late April. That's a little too cool for me, since I'll be sleeping in my car, so I'm going up there in June, instead. The nearby, lower-lying areas aren't quite that cool though. The higher you get into the mountains, the colder it's going to be, especially at night. As for snakes, wild animals, free mining, etc. I have no clue. Let me know if you find anything out on those topics. Thanks for the link to that old Lumpkin map. That's a good one. ;) I'm going to try to print it out. SS

P.S. Here's a link to a weather website that has high and low average temperatures and precipitation for any town in the U.S. http://weather.yahoo.com/climo/USGA0155_f.html
Just type in the city name in the drop down menu, where it says "change location". I have it set for Dahlonega already.

OP
OP
M

mrsgoldigger