Gold Bug 2 and gold mining.

lookin4treasure

Aug 11, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey guys, This will be my first year actually "mining" or looking for gold. I was able to find a few claims that were active miines back in the 1800's. I have old maps with the places where the shafts and quartz veins are located. I'm picking up the Fisher Gold bug 2 next month and I just want any advice from anyone who's done this type of thing. Should I be able to find gold or am I just wasting my time and money? I don't expect to get rich, but I'd like to find a bit of gold. Please give me some tips as i'm new to this.
Thanks guys, wish me luck :)

Upvote 0

Hoser John

Gold Member
Mar 22, 2003
Redding,Calif.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
First and foremost-you MUST have detecting experience prior to nuggetshooting. There is no form of detecting that is more expensive, dangerous, time consuming,physically demanding and a real art form. Learn to detect first and THEN decide or just go out with some locals and try before you just go and blow your hard earned dough. Not 10% will stick with it as just demanding on many fronts. Where you live,what you drive and physical condition are a HUGE factor. Now lets bring in the wife/girl friend into the mix and more convaluted as you disappear for days,weeks or months.....Buddy up and survive as laying on the canyon bottom with a busted back,leg, or hip with no cell service is a little problem-John

meMiner

Bronze Member
Jul 22, 2014
Port Perry, Ontario
Detector(s) used
Minelab 800,
Fisher CZ21, F75SE, Gold Bug 2.9 & Minelab GPX 5000
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting