Arizona Detecting Question

melo11

Tenderfoot
Mar 23, 2015
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello, I am new to the hobby and the forums :) I have been twice but still have a lot of questions, I was wondering if anybody has been detected in Ajo AZ? I have looked at a few maps and it looks like a good area, but I really have no idea, but I took a screen shot of the area I will be visiting and there are a few mines around town and seem to have been closed for a long time.

The gold dots are mines but not all for gold some are for copper and silver also

ajo.png

Last edited:
Upvote 0

Featherdfishead

Apr 4, 2014
Callahan-ScottValley-Salmon River, Ca
Detector(s) used
Primarily Minelab SDC 2300
and Gold Bug Pro with NEL Sharpshooter, Grey Ghost Phones, an EzSluice, a good Pan, various Diggn Tools, and a Good'Ol Dog or Two
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
hello melo11, if through your research you find that the area has gold large enough to detect then its a place to start. Once there look for places that the other guy with a detector wouldn't have hit and hit these places. Talk to locals you meet and see if they now anything about the area, check out local clubs, do as much historical research as possible.
Good Luck
AjR

timemachine

Apr 8, 2015
Seattle
Detector(s) used
GPZ7000 / Minelab
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Hello, I am new to the hobby and the forums :) I have been twice but still have a lot of questions, I was wondering if anybody has been detected in Ajo AZ? I have looked at a few maps and it looks like a good area, but I really have no idea, but I took a screen shot of the area I will be visiting and there are a few mines around town and seem to have been closed for a long time.

The gold dots are mines but not all for gold some are for copper and silver also

View attachment 1135794