Goldfleks

Jan 30, 2016
California
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Whites MXT-300, Tesoro Sand Shark 10.5", Bazooka Sniper, Bazooka Prospector
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
So I recently picked up a Tesoro Sand Shark for beach prospecting. Got my first gold ring today!

How can I improve the value of this detector in ways off the beach? Where do PI detectors fit into gold prospecting?

Sniping in the river in the summer? Nugget shooting in the desert? Or are they limited just to the beach?

Upvote 0

IMPDLN

Mar 18, 2014
Central Arizona
Detector(s) used
Minelab SD2100 V-2, Gold Bug SE, SDC2300, GPX4500
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
PI detectors, like Minelabs are preferred for gold detecting especially in the desert. The problem with the Sand Shark is it isn't designed for that purpose. I am no expert on that unit, but if not mistaken it has no ground balance feature. Also, if my memory serves me, I don't think that unit is known for sensitivity to small nuggets. However, even though not a unit you would necessarily purchase for that use, it is a metal detector and what could it hurt to try. Dennis

Lanny in AB

Gold Member
Apr 2, 2003
Alberta
Detector(s) used
Various Minelabs(5000, 2100, X-Terra 705, Equinox 800, Gold Monster), Falcon MD20, Tesoro Sand Shark, Gold Bug Pro, Makro Gold Racer.
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Dennis has given you some good advice on the Sand Shark. As well, I would like to add a few things.