ManiacMike

Feb 27, 2017
Oregon
Detector(s) used
Garrett ATX Extreme
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Hi All,

Some I'm up in Oregon and I'm just starting out prospecting with a detector. I've been panning for years, but never really had the gumption to go get a detector. I was told that the ATX was out of my ball park, but I figured go BIG or stay home. Just wanted to see if anyone has any experience with it up here. Tips and comments would be greatly appreciated.

Also, anyone know of any good clubs to go prospecting/panning around SW Oregon?

-ManiacMike

Upvote 0

oregonmp03

Oct 13, 2014
Aberdeen, WA
Detector(s) used
Fishers
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
go with a Garrett AT Pro / Gold or Whites MX Sport. I'm in North Bend, Oregon. North Bend Prospector Association if your up in this area. Otherwise there are a few others groups around depending on where you're at.

Goldfleks

Jan 30, 2016
California
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Whites MXT-300, Tesoro Sand Shark 10.5", Bazooka Sniper, Bazooka Prospector
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Depends where you plan on prospecting/detecting.

You quickly learn when you get into metal detecting that your detector is a specalized tool, and no one single detector works in all conditions. the ATX is a PI detector which means you won't have the benefit of discrimination. It will be strong on your Oregon beaches which are covered in black sands if you choose o detect for jewelery, but you're going to have to dig EVERYTHING! And it's going to work that same way out of the salt water as well. I believe the ATX has a ground balance feature, but I'm not very familiar with that product, the people over on the Garrett forum under metal detecting could probably better fill you in on it's strengths and weaknesses. But you're basically going to have to dig EVERY signal gold or not. And I'm not sure how hot the ATX is on small gold.