Aug 27, 2017
Georgia/Alabama
Detector(s) used
Minelab GM1000
White's GMZ
White's Spectrum XLT
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm wondering how well the Garrett ATX would do with Gold. Mostly on the east coast (Northern Georgia). I have a Minelab GM1000 that I cant even use because of the mineralization. I have a White's Goldmaster 2 which does okay with the mineralization and small/tiny gold, but depth is an issue along with getting hits on high iron content rocks, as well as sounding off for good deposits of black sand. Lastly, I have a White's GMZ that I can't do much with because of the mineralization. The mineralization varies DRASTICALLY and RAPIDLY. So, even with the GM2 I have to work a TINY area, move a couple feet, and then ground-balance again. I know there is decent gold still yet to be found in GA. It's not really a deposited area that people nugget shoot in, so that could be a good thing?

The ATX I'm referring to is not the deepseeker version with the 10x12 DD, standard headphones, and case. Hopefully the manual as well. Not sure what difference it would make for prospecting without the deepseeker coils or mono. I do plan on taking a trip out west this summer as well.

Thanks in advance.

Upvote 0

arizau

Bronze Member
May 2, 2014
AZ
Detector(s) used
Beach High Banker, Sweep Jig, Whippet Dry Washer, Lobo ST, 1/2 width 2 tray Gold Cube, numerous pans, rocker box, and home made fluid bed and stream sluices.
Primary Interest:
Prospecting