Zero experience need info

yotaboy86

Jul 14, 2014
Nor Cal
Detector(s) used
Bgt prospector/miner, Ggt nugget, gold cube, goldnsand hand pump Black magic miller table, blue bowl, garret pan
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
So I haven’t posted anything in a really long time so forgive me if I’m doing this wrong but I am looking at getting a detector for nugget hunting when I’m tired of sluicing. It would be mostly creek beds and river bars/bedrock. The problem is I have no experience with a metal detector and looking for advise on where to begin with something easy to learn but still be a great detector once I’m seasoned? I tried the search before posting with not much luck thanks-

Upvote 0

xr7ator

Gold Member
Sep 2, 2011
Denver, Colorado
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, AT Gold, ATX, MH7 (oldie!) Minelab Explorer SE Pro, EQ800
I believe a lot of folks like you don't understand what the detector's abilities really are and think that they can buy a machine that will be able to tell the difference between trash and gold. There is no machine that can tell you that the "beep" under the coil is gold and not a piece of lead or aluminum or.....etc.

I live in Colorado, started detecting in 1984 and have never found natural raw gold with a metal detector. I haven't tried very hard but I have tried and I find a ton of trash. Little bits of lead usually is what really gets me thinking that it might be gold.
So, I coinshoot and dig it all mostly (meaning I still have to dig a LOT of trash to find my alloyed gold) so that I can find gold rings. A nice one popped out for me on Memorial day, 14.6 grams of 10k wonderful yella....

Someone with much more experience will chime in and explain PI verses VLF and, I'm sure, have more meat to add to the subject.

GOOD LUCK whatever you do out there.

OP
OP
yotaboy86

yotaboy86

Jul 14, 2014
Nor Cal
Detector(s) used
Bgt prospector/miner, Ggt nugget, gold cube, goldnsand hand pump Black magic miller table, blue bowl, garret pan