Mariposa Mineralization

VlPokeylV

Tenderfoot
Aug 27, 2020
Fresno
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Hello all,

I was hoping to ask a few questions of someone who is familiar with the general western Mariposa County area. I ran a query for Mariposa and didn't find anything regarding ground mineralization. Hopefully I dug deep enough and am not asking the same old annoying question over again.

To start, I'm new to this. I've some experience with metal detectors from work but I realize this is a different ball-game, searching for gold. I'm looking to purchase one of the more affordable VLF's. I've been eyeing the Minelab Gold Monster 1000 and also the Fisher Gold Bug Pro. Where I'm looking to detect is near Barrett Cove (I realize this may be a little west of the "Gold Belt") on some family owned property. I've found a couple grained sized small "pickers" by pan after crack and crevassing. I'd really like to run the place over with a detector. Thing is, their soil is fairly red and seems to be very oxidized. Would I be wasting my time with either of these units in that general area? I've read about the PI machines and they sound fantastic. Unfortunately, I can't invest thousands at this point in time. I'd hate to buy a VLF and find out it's worthless, just screaming because of the ground the whole time. If it helps, I'm including a few photos of the general rocks/terrain on the property. I plan to also search farther south closer to home (Fresno) which I don't think soil will be a problem. Of course, not near as much gold farther south either, hah!

So if the ground in that area isn't too hot, what would you go with, the Minelab or the Fisher? Is the Fisher in fact American Made or only engineered? I'd prefer to purchase USA. Thank you much for your input.

20200718_114656.jpg 20200718_114702.jpg

Upvote 0

Lanny in AB

Gold Member
Apr 2, 2003
Alberta
Detector(s) used