AZ - Little San Domingo Wash

ARROW1

Greenie
Jul 29, 2021
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello,
I'm new to detecting and would like to adventure out of local parks to look for gold in the hills. The Little San Domingo Wash is within driving distance from my home - I have only few hours to devote to detecting each month. The Little San Domingo wash is miles long so I hope I'm not committing a sin by asking for some practical orienting. Where is a fair place to begin looking?

Thank You

Upvote 0

cpomike13

Jul 11, 2015
SoCal
Detector(s) used
Whites SST
Whites GoldMaster e series
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
There are alot of claims out there. You can join a club and get access to them, then you are hunting legal. You're also going to need a metal detector that can find gold

Lanny in AB

Gold Member
Apr 2, 2003
Alberta
Detector(s) used
Various Minelabs(5000, 2100, X-Terra 705, Equinox 800, Gold Monster), Falcon MD20, Tesoro Sand Shark, Gold Bug Pro, Makro Gold Racer.
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Welcome to nugget hunting! Lots of good (also not so good) nugget hunting videos on YouTube--stay away from the click-bait nonsense videos where they go out with dishes to collect nuggets or the videos where they keep digging out large nuggets on "secret" islands with 4-dollar detectors. Look for the videos where reputable nugget hunters post ongoing videos of finds where a lot of investment in time and technology returns finds every once in a while. (You'll soon know how to tell the "real" videos from the click-bait artists.)

All the best,

Lanny

leadnugget

Jul 29, 2006
arizona
Detector(s) used
gpx6000
gp extreme
gold monster 1000
nokta simplex
research links.

https://mlrs.blm.gov/s/

Welcome to Land Matters

https://thediggings.com/

or if you dont like doing research and looking over mining claim maps.
you might want to join a club gpaa is cheap, roadrunners pricey but i think its worth it.

you dont say what kind of beeper you have.