Just swing away in the creek?

Ghalt

Greenie
Aug 3, 2008
MDing Newbie here.

I have a White's Prizm III. Never pursued anything other than coins and a few relics.

But I have a friend of mine that owns 300 acres in an area that was once known for its gold mines (before the Union army destroyed them all).

He has a few streams on the property.

It seems to me it might be worth checking them out. So, what's the right way to start out? Should I just swing my Prizm through the stream until I start picking up signals?

(I'm thinking of using the MD before just starting to pan somewhere...)

Thoughts?

Thanks!

Upvote 0

El Cooter

Mar 20, 2007
Merced, Ca.
Detector(s) used
Whites XLT, GMT, V-Sat and ML2200d
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Well, the Prizm wont do you much good unless the target is large! Get a gold detector if you want to prospect.
Check out the GMT or Gold Bug and good luck!!!!

Cooter

Hoser John

Gold Member
Mar 22, 2003
Redding,Calif.
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
A better detector would be nice BUT any detector beats a pan !! You are checking about a half a cubic foot of ground--A SECOND-no pan can do 1/1000 as much. You are also looking for areas that send that detector absolutely crazy !! You've just found the righteous black sand deposits that gold REALLY likes to hide in. Get a pocket fulla poker chips and drop 1 at each good hit,then come back with a shovel and chuck it in a bucket. By NOT stopping and playing the dig and split game-time consuming egocentric waste a time-you process 10X the hits--get all the gold that you miss when looking for the big one only. Use a sluice box to run the bucket and you'll have plenty of time to get the gold!! GOLDEN RULE A MINING-HE WHO PROCESSES THE MOST GRAVELS-WINS!!!!!!!!!! :icon_sunny: Tons a au 2 u 2-John

EARTHLING

Aug 17, 2008
DALLAS TEXAS
Detector(s) used
SHADOW x5.... GOLDTRAX... D.P. WADER.... NAUTILUS DMC II B