Badly Needed: Fisher 552D Service Manual or Schematic

Gen. Breckinridge

Feb 26, 2007
Southwest Virginia
Detector(s) used
White's MXT SunRay DX-1 Garrett ACE 250, Fisher VLF-555D Pro, Fisher VLF-552D
Although the Fisher 550 series have been out of production for years the people I have talked to about getting a service manual or even a schematic act like they are protecting the keys to Ft. Knox. What give? I have a 552 that is sick and have a 551 for parts and really want to get the old machine up and running. I can't understand what the big secret is about old technology. I am a qualified electronics technician being retired from broadcast TV as director of engineering so I can fix it if I can get some info but as they say in the business, it's hard to drive through Kentucky without a road map.

If any of you have access to a service manual or a schematic I will be forever indebted to you. I have a users manual but it doesn't have the schematic in it. I will pay for copy costs and postage plus a little for your trouble. If you want to send the schematic alone with no return address that is fine. Whatever it takes, we will work it out. Thanks to anyone who can sneak one of these "highly classified documents" past security.

Ken Sturgill
P.O. Box 765
Marion VA 24354

Upvote 0

LuckyLarry

Dec 16, 2005
Sweet Home, Oregon
Detector(s) used
I had to sideline for awhile, too much quarreling, brand defensiveness, and seeing certain people waging war on others. It got to be too silly for me after awhile..
Primary Interest:
Other
Actually Ken, those aren't really that hard to troubleshoot.

Start first by seeing if there is any sound, voltage to the exterior (search) coil, or any movement in the meter.