Garrett Grand Master Hunter CXIII???

Klancaster

Greenie
Sep 1, 2003
I am new to metal detecting and bought my first unit towards the end of last year. Used it quite a bit just after I bought it, but put it away over the Winter months. This year I have not taken much time to use it, and now I have gotten the bug to get it out and start hunting. The unit I purchased was the Garrett CXIII, the unit I purchased was only used five times and put away in a closet. I got the detector with 10" coil, Garrett carying case, extension piece for us taller folks, digging tools pouches and a smaller pin point detector called a Bullseye II, which makes it easy to locate the treasure in your pile of dirt. Shortly before I put it away it was reacting a little funny. I sent the unit to Garrett and they found the coil was going bad. They replaced the 10" coil for me at no charge, which was very surprising and they completely recalibrated the unit. I was able to speak to the tech who worked on it and he said the CXIII was his most favorite unit that Garrett ever made and that mine was like new. He said the CXIII was ahead of it's time and still out performs newer models costing much more. KellyCo also gave me an incredible deal on a smaller 6" coil called a "hot head" they said to use it in heavy trash areas. I think they sold me the "hothead" for $40.00. Anyway I took it to Myrtle Beach this Summer and followed several yards before some other detectors and to their amazement and mine I was finding coins that they had not. One was using a Bounty Hunter unit and I can't remember the name of the other unit. Like I said I have gotten the fire again and want to get out in the woods and see what I can find. For those of you that are more expierenced, what is your opinion on this detector. I do believe that a cheap detector is better in the hands of somebody that knows how to use it than a Whites XLT is in the hands of a beginer like me. Although I have found the CXIII very user friendly. Th