Organized Treasure Hunts

urbss

Sep 15, 2005
Cresson, PA
Hello,

I just found out about a Treasure Hunt that is being sponsored by a club that is only a couple hours from my home.

The 1st obstacle I must overcome is trying to convince my wife to let me go because it will be an expensive weekend. The registration alone is $190.00. Plus gas, food, a room for at least 1 night, etc.

Anyway, hopefully I'll be allowed to go, but I want to ask you all if you have ever been to one and if so if you have any words of wisdom.

I've never been to anything like this, so I have no idea what to expect. I have an ACE 250 with a standard and a sniper coil, a pinpointer, basic headphones and a waist-thing to put my finds into - and I am a complete novice (at least I feel like one).

Any thoughts or advice would be greatly helpful and appreciated.

Thanks,
Urbs

Upvote 0

warsawdaddy

Gold Member
Nov 23, 2004
Edwards,Missouri
Detector(s) used
MXT - DeLeon - Gamma 6000
Is it a seeded hunt? If you haven't been or seen one of these larger hunts,I would suggest passing it up.Try to find a club that has a smaller scale hunt for it's members first.Some of those larger seeded hunts can be kind of brutal for someone not experienced in them and that entry fee seems a little steep.Now I say this not knowing anything about the hunt you are referring to.This is just my opinion.Maybe someone else can give you better insight.Goodluck.

Check out this;
http://forum.treasurenet.com/index.php/topic,222464.0.html

mark.

Apr 13, 2006
Still interested?

Here's a few thoughts. I have more thoughts but my typing takes too long.

Try this. Get a large knife & head out into your backyard. Rope off an area…let’s say 30’ X 30’ with markers or string. Get about 50-60 dimes & take that knife *& bury them about 1” deep. Stick the knife in the ground PARALLEL to the ground, raise the turf slightly & squeeze the dime in the hole so that it’s flat in the ground as much as possible.