Can you help me find gold!

je177

Dec 27, 2006
Southeastern MA
Detector(s) used
DFX 300. Ace250
I've been detecting for about 3 years. I currently swing a whites dfx 300. It has a bit of a learning curve to it. I feel pretty confident about my coin detecting skills but I can't seem to "hear" gold. I use the tone id and vdi to figure a good coin target but gold signals seem like trash or unstable signals. I've been invited to hit a beach and was looking for some pointers on recognizing gold signals. Tips from those with dfx's would be great, but all are welcome. Thanks!!

Upvote 0

Tom_in_CA

Gold Member
Mar 23, 2007
Salinas, CA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Explorer II, Compass 77b, Tesoro shadow X2
unfortunately, there is no one "tone" for gold. Aluminum and gold share the same conductivity for starters, and secondly, gold jewelry comes in infinate shapes and sizes. Ie.: rings of different sizes and karots, bracelets, earings, charms, necklaces, amulets, etc.... If anyone tells you they can tell the difference between aluminum and gold, quickly take them out to the nearest blighted inner city urban park, and see how long their claims last :o

If you're getting lots of aluminum junk, and no gold where you're hunting, then you're simply hunting a place where the ratios "aren't worth it". You need to find better hunt sites, where jewelry is more present. Typically swimming beaches are best, because cool waters shrink fingers, people lather up with slippery suntan lotion, people put their valuables on their blanket (or hidden in their shoe, etc...) for "safekeeping", etc..... Next would be things like sand volleyball courts, etc....

BuckleBoy

Gold Member
Jun 12, 2006
Moonlight and Magnolias
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Fisher F75, Whites DualField PI, Fisher 1266-X and Tesoro Silver uMax
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting