Why do I end up digging a trench instead of a hole?

A

ashton9

I'm new to THing and have about 10 hours of detecting under my belt. Occasionally I'll get a good nickel signal with no smear registered on the LCD. I'll pinpoint, dig it and recheck the hole and the signal has moved just to the edge of the hole. Well, I figure my pinpointing is off so I dig some more and recheck and the signal moves again, over and over and in the same direction. I quit digging the signal after the hole is around a foot long. I using a 1990 White's Spectrum Eagle.

Upvote 0

earthmansurfer

Apr 3, 2004
Germany
I'm not familiar with your unit but there are a few things to consider:
1. Your experience - You just need practice
2. How the object is laying - a coin laying at angle will "sound" where it's not. You need to play in a test garden or just put a coin in the ground at different angles to understand what I'm saying. (no tricks on this one)
3. A smaller coil is way easier to pinpoint with. When I use my 10" coil I dig some wider holes than with my 6" coil.
4. Depending on your unit you may be able to pinpoint in a variety of ways. You can try to center the discriminate beep in a "t" like fashion, or use the all metal side and detune the target. Play around, it will get better.
5. A pinpointer is really a good aid, so is a probe (which I have yet to use).

Basically just practice in your yard with a test coin. See where on your coil the "true center" is. More than likely it's in the very center. I'm new also, only 2 months into it. Nothing like digging a 12" deep whole and then realizing the target is on the side 1" down! eheheh?
Be careful when digging those trenches. You don't want to create any ememies for you or and other detectorists alike. I recommend a great book called the Detectorist. It's hard to find but available online if you look.
Good luck to you,
Al

JARMAN

Bronze Member
Jun 10, 2004