Do You need permits or anything?

sleo573

Tenderfoot
Aug 4, 2009
Florida
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Cibola
Hey everyone,

I'm new to the site. I'm just starting out metal detecting I have a Tesoro Cibola. Haven't had much luck yet. I live in Florida and have only been out a couple times so far. Although I did find a old spoon or fork or something yesterday but the head of it is broken off and it's got a lot of marine build up on it. Any ideas on how to clean it up and get the sand and rust and everything off of it?

My question is do you need any kind of permit or license to Metal Detect or can i pretty much do it at any public place?

Upvote 0

sniffer

Gold Member
Dec 31, 2006
Kansas
Detector(s) used
XP DEUS
in florida you really need to check with some of the local MD clubs in your area, some places you can detect without problems, others you need to know exactly where you can't.
as far as removing crud from your fork, try electrolysis

Sniffer

Tom_in_CA

Gold Member
Mar 23, 2007
Salinas, CA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Explorer II, Compass 77b, Tesoro shadow X2
As for where, or where you can't detect, check with local long-time good hunters. Not just skittish sandbox hunters, but actual hard-core hunters, who routinely bring in the old coins, hunt all over, etc... Ask them what the real skinny is, on whether or not there's places to avoid in your area. Typically though, it will just be federally run properties/parks (although I've noticed that at WWII and later era military bases, no one seems to care), and some state owned sites/properties. Although state beaches are usually treated different from state parks. At least here in CA, no one has ever seemed to care at the state owned beaches (despite how a technical reading might come across). Just check with long-time hunters, and see how it's evolved in your area.

Goodyguy

Gold Member
Mar 10, 2007
Arizona
Detector(s) used