NGE

Silver Member
May 27, 2008
S.E. Michigan
Detector(s) used
Etrac, Explorer XS II, Fisher 1266-X
Primary Interest:
Other
I have been hunting for going on 50 years :icon_thumright:. I have gotten most all of the type coins, that people on here have on their wish lists. However, I do not have any colonials, except maybe one, A 1793 Flowing Hair, Wreath Reverse Cent that would put a baby's butt to shame ;D. It took me an hour or so to see the date, twisting, turning, finding the right sunlight angle, whew, then all of a sudden " Happy Dancing " was in order. I think that had to be the first happy dance in the history of metal detecting ;D. Heck, my friend thought I stepped on something :laughing9:. It was in a construction dirt pile on an island park in Detroit, Michigan Called Belle Isle, google it for more info on the history of once known " Hog Island". They were installing new sewage lines on the island, and when ya come across this type of situation, you would love to camp on the island. Not permitted, and the Natives would have yer head, and whatever else you used to own. It's a shame that we (as detectorists) are not allowed to hunt any crime ridden, trashed, under managed, dirty old parks in Detroit anymore. Because of one person at a "trashing the park" picnic get together (reunion) complained that someone was digging holes :icon_scratch:. These people that complained, were spinning the swings up over the top bars, throwing their trash on the ground (next to empty trash bins) and they supposedly are the best basketball players in the world? :help: The city has decided to enforce the rules they have had on the books since the 1800's, NO TRASHING OF THE CITY PARKS! :laughing9: :laughing9: :laughing9:.........Gimme a break! Anyway, back to the things I have found, Glass, aluminum, marbles, coins, toys, cracker jack stuff, monopoly stuff, all kinds of jewelry, and even 35 silver coin days, yep, those were the good old days. Most of the coins I found in the last