Newbee / SoCal Desert Nugget hunting

DaveyT

Tenderfoot
Sep 26, 2009
I'm going to be looking for nuggets in the Southern California desert. What is the best metal detectors for this type of treasure hunting? I'm new to metal detecting but want to get serious about it and I don't want to waste my money buying the wrong detector. From what I've seen so far, it looks as if a PI detector would best suit my needs.

Any help would be appreciated.

DaveyT
Riverside, CA

Upvote 0

extractor

Silver Member
Sep 27, 2007
Sal Sagev Adaven
Detector(s) used
E-TRAC,,,, SOVEREIGN GT,,,, GP 3500,,,,
GB PRO.
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Welcome to the madness! What is your budget for the MD ? Ya also should have snake guards.

OP
OP
D

DaveyT

Tenderfoot
Sep 26, 2009
Extractor,

My budget is certainly not even close to $4500 like the prices I'm seeing for some devices.
I probably won't be able to spend more than $1200.

snake guards: are those some kind of steel mesh you wrap around your legs under your pants?

Thanks

extractor

Silver Member
Sep 27, 2007
Sal Sagev Adaven
Detector(s) used
E-TRAC,,,, SOVEREIGN GT,,,, GP 3500,,,,
GB PRO.
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
DaveyT said:
Extractor,

My budget is certainly not even close to $4500 like the prices I'm seeing for some devices.

snake guards: are those some kind of steel mesh you wrap around your legs under your pants?

Thanks
Dave, Ya should post this topic also in the prospesting forum here in Tnet.
Snake guards are usally worn on the outside of paints and if they have metal in them they tend to interfear with the metal detector http://forum.treasurenet.com/index.php/topic,223605.0.html
With your budget your choices IMO are Gold bug I or II , Whites MXT or GMT OR GMZ.
Most PI detectors start around $1800. even used ones.

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used