Shopping for an upgrade.

trminton

Tenderfoot
Oct 21, 2009
Alabama
Detector(s) used
Whites MXT 300
Hey guys,

I had used detectors before in the early 90's before just recently getting back into coin collecting and metal detecting so while I am relatively new, I am not a total newb. Recently, I was given a Bounty Hunter Pioneer 505 and it was not very good at all and very frustrating. I recently bought an Ace 250 and love it. In fact, I love it so much that I have the bug and want to upgrade to the best machine I can afford which is around $1000. I have kind of narrowed it down to a few companies and models and wanted to see if there were any serious and informed opinions on them. Here they are and not in order of favorites:

1. Garrett 2500 GTI
2. Garrett 1500 GTI
3. Fisher F75
4. Fisher F70
5. Tesoro Cortes
6. Tesoro Deleon
7. Teknetics T2
8. Minelab ????????

Warranty is a big factor and for the life of me, I cannot figure out why some of the older companies like Whites and Garrett have such a terrible warranty? Whites used to be one of my favorites but a 2 year warranty? I like the Ace 250 and because of that I will consider another Garrett but they also are only 2 years I believe. Why is that? I see 5 year warranties from Fisher and Bounty Hunter and even a lifetime from Tesoro so are they that much better?

Upvote 0

sniffer

Gold Member
Dec 31, 2006
Kansas
Detector(s) used
XP DEUS
if you can swing another 400, I'd get a minelab e trac.
I'm going to be getting one as soon as I have enough saved up

Treasure_Hunter

Administrator
Staff member
Jul 27, 2006
Florida
Detector(s) used
Minelab_Equinox_ 800 Minelab_CTX-3030 Minelab_Excal_1000 Minelab_Sovereign_GT Minelab_Safari Minelab_ETrac Whites_Beach_Hunter_ID Fisher_1235_X
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
From what it appears in my opinion, the waranty went down when they went to electronic displays, more parts to fail.