Newbie question. OK its 6" deep, now what???

TexasTrash

Oct 24, 2009
North Edge of Texas
Detector(s) used
Garrett ACE 250, Radio Shack Discovery 2000- don't laugh
Newbie question. OK it's 6" deep, now what???

Hey everyone. I just got my ACE 250 and I'm still learning how to use it and how to find stuff. I've searched around and found some great info and videos on cutting plugs and retrieving items from a few inches in the ground. But what about items that are 6" and deeper? What do you use to dig them out? How wide of a hole do you dig?

I'm currently hunting in a schoolyard dating back to 1891 and I don't want to make a minefield outta this place, but I'm getting coin target hits deep down.

Thanks TT

Upvote 0

gleaner1

Silver Member
Feb 1, 2009
Gateway to the 1000 Islands
Detector(s) used
Sometime(s)
Primary Interest:
Other
Re: Newbie question. OK it's 6" deep, now what???

6" down? Good solid response? Dig it. Fill in the hole. Learn as you go. Just fill the hole.

SusanMN

Silver Member
Jun 1, 2007
Minnesota
Detector(s) used
Tiger Shark, Xterra 705, Makro Legend
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting

Do some research here or on the web about the proper way to dig a hole, which includes using a cloth or something do drop the dirt on that you've dug so that you can get all back in the hole. Once you've done your reading, start with your own yard - try digging some six inch or seven inch deep holes and see if you can close them back up to look like the yards been barely touched. Once you've gotten it down at home or on a practice plot then its time to start in a schoolyard. Also, ground condition makes a difference on how visible or not your digging will be afterward.

Finally, get yourself a pinpointer - they make it easier to find the target so you can find a small target in a deep hole easier.

Butler

Feb 19, 2009
Northern Colorado
Detector(s) used
Minelab E-Trac; X-1 Probe; Brain!

Here's a couple of vids on target recovery. Hope they help!

mcdpoor