mi77915

Greenie
Nov 26, 2009
Detector(s) used
Teknetics Delta 4000
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Hi,

I am new to metal detecting and have not yet purchased my first detector. I have been doing a lot of research here and on other “Metal Detecting Forums”, and “Metal Detecting Equipment Review” sites to try to figure out which detector is right for me. As with many of us, I am on a “budget” of around $200. My plans are to use this detector at local schoolyards, public parks, and playgrounds. I realize that this subject has been covered many, many times.

I have narrowed it down to (3) machines; Ace 250, Whites Coinmaster (the new one), and Fisher F2. From what I can figure from all my reading is that these (3) machines are pretty close to each other. One area that I have not read too much about is the “ease” of use of these machines. By this I mean is one machine easier to “read” and figure out what the display is telling you? Or is it a matter of just “learning” that particular machine?

Any comments/suggestions?

Thank you,

Tom

Upvote 0

arrowhead883

Feb 6, 2009
Central Kentucky
Hey Tom, Welcome. I can only speak for the ACE250. It was my first detector and I found it very easy to use after I read everything I could find on it and watched a few Youtube videos as well. The thing is a coin beast. I've found a lot of flat buttons with it as well. The main thing with any machine is the amount of time you put on it. I'm sure they all have their strong points, but the ACE works very well for me in the exact areas you say your going to use it at.

If you get the ACE I would recommend starting out in the coin mode with the sensitivity set at 4 or 5 and just use the heck out of it. Once you learn the "dings" set it up to fit your style of hunting and go! No matter what machine you get, reasearch it to death and your learning curve should be much smaller than if you just pop it out of the box and try to use it. Good luck!

mlayers

Gold Member
Oct 29, 2007