Recommend a good detector?

placerman

Oct 11, 2005
I know this is a loaded question....lol

Im not a newbie but it has been a decade since I was into metal detecting for placer gold. I used a Fisher Gold Bug II (on loan) for a while and found a few (very small) pickers but not much.

Then I bought a Minelab SD 2100. Maybe it was a 2200? Cant remember for sure. Anyway whenever I used it all I could get was the 60 cycles a second going through the power lines, especially when I pointed the coil in the general direction of a power line. I finally got it out in the boonies where there was no power lines in a mile or so and was finding pieces of metal three and four feet down. That quickly got old.

I'm sure I would have gotten better at it had I had the time but a divorce caused me to give up all my hobbies and concentrate on getting custody of my kids. I sold the SD and used the money to pay part of my lawyers fees.

Anyway to the point of this post.

I'm looking for a good reliable coin metal detector. One that has a good ID feature.

I'm sure there are a lot of good models out there but most of the ones I remember are probably almost antiques by now.

I remember the Radio Shack stuff was crap 15 years ago. I wonder if that is still the case.

Anyway all recommendations would be much appreciated.

Upvote 0

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
You will get lots of answers to this question. :laughing7: Welcome back to the hobby. :hello: