He (someone) beat me to it.

The_Griffyn

Jan 5, 2010
Alaska
Detector(s) used
Garrett GTI 2500, Fisher Gold Bug 2, Minelab SDC 2300, Minelab GM 1000
So we had some really big surf roll through here these past couple of days which finally died out. Being aware of it, I made plans to hit the low tide this afternoon here locally. As many of you know, I'm new to this hobby and have only had my detector for 5 days now. I got a backpack together with snacks and drinks for my kids, loaded them and the green machine into the truck, and arrived on site 1 hour before dead low. Fired her up, gave the kids the rules, and started the walk down from the parking lot. As we came over the winter berm I could see a vast expanse of freshly water-free sand and I knew I had timed it right. That is until I saw holes scattered about for 200 yards down the beach. Nearly out of sight I could see a real pro with a fully waterproofed rig coming in and out of the surf, up and down, zig-zag, and every other which way all over the path I had hoped to take. My little girl says, "Daddy, I think that man beat us to all the treasures."

Hoping that with as fast as he was moving he had missed some targets, I trudged my way down the beach. He didn't. All I got was a few bits of foil, a pull-tab or two, and a bobby-pin. I wonder what he managed to score?

I was really hoping to make a good find today but it was not to be. I did however enjoy a wonderful afternoon with my children which is reward enough.

-The Griffyn

Upvote 0
OP
OP
T

The_Griffyn

Jan 5, 2010
Alaska
Detector(s) used
The beach south of the pier, where we were, get's the good surf due to some sand bars, so it experiences far more erosion and re-concentration of material than the north side. The other side is just a big flat bowl that doesn't seem to ever change.

I did end up going down there for the last 20 mins or so but nothing doing.

-TG

OP
OP
T

The_Griffyn

Jan 5, 2010
Alaska
Detector(s) used