Whites Spectra vs MXT vs DFX

Relic Wench

Greenie
Feb 13, 2010
Ohio
Detector(s) used
Minelab X Terra 505
I visited a local metal detector dealer and spent a few hours going over various models. I am new to detectors and will primarily be looking to search old homesites for coins, relics, jewelry, etc.

I dont want to start out with a cheap unit and have to upgrade down the road. I want something that has good depth and discrimination while being easy to use and not too complicated.

Right now I am leaning towards the Whites Spectra V3 partly because they are currently offering a free Prizm III with purchase. The free Prizm could be used by whoever I take with me since I would like to avoid hiking alone in remote areas. The Spectra also includes wireless headphones that I believe retail for 200-300 dollars. I have heard mixed reviews on the D2 coils that also come on the Spectra.

Based on my needs, would you go with:

Whites Spectra with wireless headphones, D2 coil and free Prizm III unit for 1,699. retail
MXT 799. retail
DFX 1, 199. retail

Or...is there another unit of any brand that is highly recommended for new users. These units seem VERY expensive so it would be nice to find a more middle of the road unit price-wise that would be comparable to the features listed on the above models.

Thanks.

Upvote 0

jeff741972

Sep 13, 2008
Tamaqua Pa
Detector(s) used
V3i