I took the plunge

newenglander

Tenderfoot
Apr 7, 2010
Western Massachusetts
Detector(s) used
Fisher F5
I've been thinking about and admiring MDing since I was a kid. My grandfather got into it in the early 80's and he also got me into coin collecting at a young age. Now that i'm 35, I got a subscription to W&E treasures and got my first detector - a Fisher F5. For the last year, I've been watching Bill Ladd on Youtube. He's about my age and a fellow New Englander (I can spot that accent from a mile away), so he's become a bit of a hero of mine. Being from Mass, the ground just thawed a few weeks ago, and i've been going in my yard with my son. I've found enough iron to build a tank so far, but I also found a 1942 nickel, 1942 wheat, and a 1918 wheat, so I remain optimistic.

So, here's why i'm writing: It's time to get out of the yard, but to where? I know....schools, parks, beaches, etc. The problem is that I still have a bit of stage fright and I don't want to be out in the open yet. So, I'm thinking about the deep woods. The problem with that is that I haven't done my homework yet and so I don't want to just find a random patch of woods and waste my time wandering aimlessly through thickets and getting lyme's disease from the 1000 ticks that will no doubt feast on me. There is a wildlife preserve just down the road from me, but when I went there this morning, I noticed the sign from the Environmental police that said "No digging or removal of archeological finds". I assume that that means me.

Question: Anyone out there from Western Mass or Northern Connecticut know of anywhere a beginner can go to learn. I'm not asking for your secret spots, but there must be some common locations out there where I can go.

Thanks.

Upvote 0

mick56

Bronze Member
Jun 2, 2007
Southern Wisconsin
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
ATPro