TREASURE HUNTING-GOOD FOR THE SOUL? YOUR OPINION!

DANNYGEE

Oct 27, 2005
GREENLAWN, NY (LONG ISLAND)
Detector(s) used
2-6000 di pros
HELLO PEOPLE
WAS RECENTLY DOING SOME RENOVATING FOR AN ANESTHESIOLOGIST (I AM A CONTRACTOR), WHOSE WIFE IS A PSYCHOLOGIST. AND WHILE WORKING THERE MANY INTERESTING CONVERSATONS ENSUED.
WE SPOKE ON TOPICS RANGING FROM RELIGION TO POLITICS.
ONE DAY WE WERE CHATTING ABOUT HOBBIES AND THE PSYCHOLOGICAL BENEFITS OF BEING INVOLVED IN ONE.
SHE (THE PSYCHOLOGIST) MENTIONED THAT THE RIGHT HOBBIES CAN EVEN EXTEND A PERSONS LIFE DUE IN PART TO HOW MENTAL WELLBEING TRANSLATES TO PHYSICAL WELLBEING.
SO I MENTIONED TO HER HOW ONE OF MY PASSIONS WAS METAL DETECTING..
SHE WAS VERY FAMILIAR WITH THE SUBJECT SINCE SOMEONE IN HER FAMILY HAD BEEN INVOLVED IN METAL DETECTING.
SHE ALSO MENTIONED THAT THIS WAS ONE OF THE BEST TYPES OF HOBBIES SINCE IT EXPLORED AND CHALLENGED MANY IF NOT ALL OF THE HUMAN PSYCHE.

SHE EXPRESSED HOW THE BENEFITS RANGED FROM LOWER BLOOD PRESSURE TO SHARPER COGNITIVE SKILLS.

SO MY QUESTION IS WHAT ARE SOME OF THE POSITIVE RESULTS THAT Y O U EXPERIENCE?

DANNYGEE

Upvote 0

Monty

Gold Member
Jan 26, 2005
Sand Springs, OK
Detector(s) used
ACE 250, Garrett
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am pretty stove up from an accident and I find I can get around a lot better if I get out and MD two or three times a week. Since I don't get around well, it gives me something to get out and do that isn't too strenuous. I can work at my own pace and rest if I need to. It keeps me from going stir crazy by just sitting around. I'm either going MDing or planning to go, cleaning my equipment, doing research, etc. Very good hobby both mentally and physically. Monty

The Beep Goes On

Silver Member
Jan 11, 2006
Houston, TX
Detector(s) used
CTX3030, Excalibur II, V3i, TRX
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting