Diggin-N-Dumps

Gold Member
Sep 9, 2009
Fort Worth,Texas
Detector(s) used
CTX 3030 / AT PRO / Etrac w/ NEL
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello..I have to say, this forum has only been but a blessing to me..I have learned more in the last year then i ever have... But Im getting to the point where I think i may need to upgrade.. I currently using ACE 250, and have found many coins and some pieces of jewlery, but im worried i cant get deep enough to find the older coins..my questions are

Should I upgrade to the next Garrett? or

Is it good to mismatch machines? Like if i got a different brand to "Resweep an area"

Are the Ace's good for "Relic hunting" like for larger items. i have some farm land to hit and dont want to waste time if its not sufficent
I have been dectecing for 3 yrs or so..but got really serious in the last year once i was able to gain access to some places

I only have the Ace250 now..but have been looking into the Ace1500 or something that can go deeper..

I would love to hear some of your thoughts...
I know this post is simliar to one from earlier..but that got a little crazy and didnt really tap into what i was getting at

thanks

Upvote 0

Smudge

Bronze Member
Jul 9, 2010
Central Florida
Detector(s) used
A Propointer tied to a stick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Well, first off, there ain't no Ace1500 that I'm aware of! :D

Honestly, the Ace 250 has a lot of loyal users and I wouldn't get rid of it just because you're moving up. That 250 will make a great back-up detector!

As to moving up, and I know I'm going to draw some angry responses to this, I just don't think the Garrett "higher end" detectors are worth the money. I don't think the performance can match those of the higher end White's, Fisher's, Tesoros, or Minelabs. I really wish Garrett would get off their duff and do serious upgrades to their equipment because it feels like they're just rehashing a lot of old technology. JMHO.