bullet depth question

bigalathenstn

Mar 20, 2007
Hi, I just aquired 50 acres that is about 1700 yards to the southwest of Wilder tower at chickamauga battle field in Georgia. Im pretty new to detecting for relics, I usually just look for coins at the parks here in Athens,TN where I live. So far I have only found some very old mule shoes. I have a few questions.

1- How should I go about detecting this property? Should I grid it off in sections?

2- What is the most common deapth of dropped and fired bullets and small cannon balls from the civil war?

Upvote 0

TerryC

Gold Member
Jun 26, 2008
Yarnell, AZ
Detector(s) used
Ace 250 (2), Ace 300, Gold Bug 2, Tesoro Cortes, Garrett Sea Hunter, Whites TDI SL SE, Fisher Impulse 8, Minelab Monster 1000, Minelab CTX3030, Falcon MD20, Garrett Pro-pointer, Calvin Bunker digger.
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I'm not a relic hunter but I would definitely hunt ALL METAL mode. It's funny. Sometimes relics will be right on top, sometimes deep (7 inches and more). Look for and hunt along fences, tree groves, along paths, and all depressions. Some good info to be had on this net and books. Good luck. TTC

Iron Patch

Gold Member
Sep 28, 2007
Dirtyville
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Deus
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
1- Walk around and look for patches of iron, or other metal, which would indicate a higher activity zone. Look at everything you dig along the way as a hint to what might be close, and try to solve the puzzle. Gridding is ok to start if you don't mind wasting a few hours then finding out all the good stuff was on the other side of the field.

2- What type of land? (not that I have specific answers even once you reply)

OP
OP
B

bigalathenstn

Mar 20, 2007