New to MDing and have some questions...

lidigger

Sep 4, 2010
Savannah, GA
Detector(s) used
Minelab Excalibur, White's BeachHunter 300, White's Prizm IV, White's Bullseye II Pointer (x2)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
New to MD'ing and have some questions...

Hi All,

I am new to metal detecting, having just got a Garrett GTI 2500 a little over a week ago, (although I have not yet had a chance to turn it on). I've wanted one since I was 8, and now I am 42, so I am anxious to start. Hopefully this weekend will be nice.

Anyway, I just wanted some advice. Nearly every night I read the 'Today's Finds' section of the site, which helps get me excited about this new hobby. I often read about members who go to the local 'tot-lot', baseball field or a school. Is it correct to assume that since the tot-lot and baseball field are publicly owned that it is okay to dig? I'm pretty sure after having asked around that there are no local laws against this. I also know that the code-of-ethics is for you to fill in any hole that is dug. Obviously I'd wait until later in the day or in the morning when no one is there. Where would you look on a baseball field? My guess is underneath any bleachers or by the sidelines where people would stand. Any other places? The tot-lot is pretty easy to figure out.

How about schools? School is in session right now and I know that there is weekends and late during the day, but where could you dig without being a nuisance to them? I'm sure if anyone was there, I'd get run off.

And the big question, is where to go to search out historic areas. If I had to take a guess, I'd say check to find the history on a local area on the internet and/or in a library and then Google Earth it. Am I missing anything? Again, I am new and hate to sound naive but do not want to miss any opportunities.