question about where not to detect

becky21b

Jul 12, 2010
Santa Cruz, Ca
Ok, since Im new to this I was wondering, if its wrong to detect in cemetaries, and churchs (with permission of course) I feel weird about doing cemetaries (even tho there is an old one in town that I thought about)

Also, whats the best way to ask for permission to detect on someones property? there are lots of parks that I've been digging around, mostly NAILS! lol ahaha but thats ok, its fun

Upvote 0

Chug And Red

Gold Member
Feb 18, 2010
Vancouver WA
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Chug)Whites Classic 5 ID, (Red Whites Coin master Pro)

Chug and Reds New Additions

Give It Up>> Garrett's AT Pro
Buttercup>> Garrett's Ace 250
Show Me the Money>> Garrets Ace 400
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
As far a my opinion goes Cemetery's should not be detected!!! Bad MOJO THERE!!!! Church grounds should be OK with Permission!!!! HH Chug

Lowbatts

Gold Member
Jul 1, 2003
Elgin
Detector(s) used
Fishers 1235X-8" CZ-20/21-8" F-70-11"DD GC1023
If you know where the after-funeral events were held, often very near the cemeteries, then it's good. Stay off the grounds of an active or even closed cemetery but keep in mind the periphery may be a great site.

There's one property in town here I want to hunt badly. After the first cold call "No" I just started watching the property. It's changed hands twice in the last ten years. I'll hunt the park across the street from the place and make conversation with the owners, yes, stalking the site.

In fact most of the private property I've gotten enthusiastic permission for came after that method was employed.

You can try the Billy Mays approach, "What can I do to get into your yard today!?!"
followed by " But wait, there's more!"
But your not selling used cars to first time buyers, your asking to take things from people's yards. Use your humility and honest appreciation for this hobby, and keep in mind those things that make people different.