headphones or no headphones...that is the question

funkman

Bronze Member
Apr 19, 2006
Middletown, NY
Detector(s) used
AT Pro & Ace 250
I have been detecting for a couple of months now with a Radio Shack/Bounty Hunter 2200. I have not been using headphones, just the detector speaker. I have found quite a few items, some interesting, most not. I have an Ace 250 coming soon and was wondering if I should get a set of headphones or not. Is there really a difference in the signal with the headphones? I think I read somewhere on this forum about "whispers" or something. What are they? Basically what I would like to know is would a set of headphones really make a difference in detecting? Would I miss a signal because the detector speaker would not register it?
I look like a crazy person as it is swinging a metal detector while walking down the street, wonder how I would look swinging a metal detector while wearing headphones!!
It's not that I have to buy a pair, I have an old set from the inlaws that I could use. Just wondering on what the difference is.

Any help on this would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Funkman.

p.s As a side note I bought one of those books that they are selling now that have all pics and history of towns in your area. Well mine had a house that was built in 1817 and was a lodge for the Free Masons........and now it is a freaking El Bandito's restaurant :o The house has changed a little since the picture and obviously there is a parking lot on the property now but MY GOD....taking a place from the early 1800's and changing it into a restuarant??? Capitalism at its finest I guess! Next time I go there going to have to bone up on some spanish or order something really expensive and ask about detecting on the property ;D

Upvote 0

midas777gold

May 29, 2006
I wear headphones all the time. Blocks out background and traffic noise.
Too bad about that old site being a restaurant. Most people and towns don't care about history.