Shopping for Ebay Pinpointers

GeoScouter

Greenie
May 17, 2006
Pa
I'm new to the hobby and getting ready to get a pinpointer from since they seem very useful. Are there any sites that review and compare different pinpointers?

I'm not sure I want to spend the $100 plus for a Whites or similar unit until I get serious about the hobby. I notice there are several different cheap units on Ebay and was wondering if anyone has experience with these inexpensive units? Which Ebay pinpointers should I avoid?

Steve

Upvote 0

joe_black

Jun 12, 2006
Eastern N. Carolina
i'm fairly new to MD'ing myselft, about 3 months now. But i love it, and i cant put it down. I finally got a pointer sensor too cuz it just seemed to make sense to me. the less time it takes me to locate the target, the more targets i can find. I shopped around and ended up forking out 100 bucks for a vibra-probe, and it was well worth the money to me. We'll see how long it lasts, i've only had it 2 out of the 3 months i've been MD'ing, and i get out for atleast a couple of hours 3 or 4 times a week. But i havent been gentle with it, and it works just like it says it does. Its made out of pvc and its plenty sturdy enough to push around in loose dirt or sand. Its also waterproof which is nice. I'm not advertising i'm just trying to suggest a product that has been a good investment for me. Just google it and you'll find one at a good price. Good luck and HH!

Farmercal

Mar 20, 2003
Earth
Detector(s) used
Explorer II, X-Terra 70 & Excalibur 1000