advice for buying a detector to hunt civil war relics

2burgs

Jul 1, 2006
Pennsylvania
Detector(s) used
Whites MXT
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
Given that I am a novice who is considering detecting a civil war encampment close to my home, what are the recommendations for a good detector, not too complicated to operate, that would do well in finding CW relics in Pennsylvania? My budget is about $350 to $400. Also, is there a good research book that is recommended for such a search?

Upvote 0

bakergeol

Bronze Member
Feb 4, 2004
Colorado
Detector(s) used
GS5 X-5 GMT
I do hate it when no one responds to a thread from someone seeking help.
For a new detector- Tesoro's Vaquero has been used by a lot of relic hunters and
at $400 has the depth of a lot of high end detectors. It doesn't have digital ID which relic
hunters don't really need anyway. Check out some of the CW relic forums for some more feedback
on the Vaquero.

HH
George

LEOJ

Jun 20, 2006
Logan County, Arkansas
Detector(s) used
Minelab Exp. II
Leitner--
Although they no longer manufacture them, Fisher's 1266 machine can still be found out there. Even new ones. It's a simple machine and with a 10 inch coil, it will get you plenty of depth. With this machine, you might want to consider the purchase of a small relic shovel as well.

relicreb

Jun 1, 2006
Tennessee
Leitner

I hunt relics and use a whites xlt. It is a great all around machine and the factory programs do a good job. Just about any machine will find relics, the trick is getting to know your machine and learning the best way to use it. Good luck and I hope to see some post from you in the future. We need more relic hunters on this forum.
Relicreb

bazinga

Silver Member
Oct 31, 2005
High Five!
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting