Anyone ever tried detecting along stone walls in New England?

treasurekidd

Bronze Member
Nov 20, 2004
Rhode Island
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello! I am a newbie MD'r in Rhode Island. In just the last few days, my daughter and I have combed local school yards, and came away with a pile of change, all clad. My question is about old stone walls. The woods of New England are loaded with old stone walls, about 1-2 feet high, that seem to go on forever. Is anyone familiar with the history behind these old walls, and has anyone every tried or had luck MDing them? A friend told me these walls are 100's of years old, and used to be route markers and/or property boundy markers. Any ideas?

Upvote 0

Zeke

Oct 26, 2004
Jackson Creek,NC
Detector(s) used
Ace 250
I would definately give it a shot. I have watched Gods and Generals...and Gettysburg this past week and the soldiers were using the stone walls as shooting positions. You never know.......maybe us or the Redcoats used them back in the Revolutionary War.

OP
OP
treasurekidd

treasurekidd

Bronze Member
Nov 20, 2004
Rhode Island
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am planning on going out a few times this weekend (4 day weekends make for more treasure hunting!) and am planning to make one trip to a wall nearby! I'll let you know what turns up!

True_Metal

Aug 27, 2004
Smoky Mountains
Detector(s) used
Minelab Whites
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Quite a bit Treasurekidd. we have those walls all over the place here in NY. Have hunted them, but only found Relics. Old farm equipment, pieces of iron, stuff like that, but no coins. Recently i found a Horsebit in a portion of collpased wall from a Rev War encampment site. Best find from the walls so far. No one really knows who built these walls, but i feel they were from the Colonial days and were used as property boundries and to keep in livestock. I'm going to keep at them cause i know eventually it will pay off.

michinkae

Nov 22, 2004
New York