How to hunt a sports field....?

papa1956e9

May 11, 2011
I was just reading one of the older posts on here about people digging up parks and sports fields and reburying trash and not using proper techniques to dig and then fix the ground. I'm new to the metal detecting, been collecting things and CHRing for a long long time. I only have a cheap detector now, but I'm hooked so when I can afford one I will upgrading. I used a Marine Corps detector in Afghanistan to check for IED wires and stuff while patrolling but this is new to me. Can one of you salty hunters share with me some of your wisdom on how to extract and item from a field and any other trade secrets you can pass on to the new guy?

Thanks, I don't want to be one of the jerks who mess up a nice field.

Upvote 0

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
There are many methods to retrieve a coin from the ground and a lot depends on where its at. Guys use a shovel in the woods and think its OK to use that on the grass at a park. I started out using a screw driver to probe for the object and "popped" them out.

Of course this only works for shallow coins. I prefer to use a bayonet because of the point is in the center of the blade and it can wedge in the center of a pull tab or gold ring for levering it out of the ground. Sometimes a plug has to be cut an it should only be a three sided plug so the roots aren't damaged. This also makes it harder for the lawn mowers to suck the plug out. Basically you just want to be able to look back and not be able to tell where you dug. I like to place any dirt I remove on a small sheet of plastic so all of it can go back in the hole. Practice pinpointing is the best way to build this skill.

OP
OP
papa1956e9